From What is Before

Lav Diaz | Philippines | 2014 | 339'
In collaboration with
Original title
Mula sa Kung Ano ang Noon
Some mysterious events take place in a small village in the Philippines. Strange laments come from the forest, some houses catch fire and cows are found dismembered. The ruthless troops of the militia begin to take control of large rural areas of the country while the President, Ferdinand E. Marcos, is about to impose martial law over the whole country. One year after Norte, the End of History, Lav Diaz goes behind the camera again to make one of the most dramatic films of his filmography on the history of the Filipino people and one of the most emblematic works of his poetics. Presented in competition at the Festival of Locarno in 2014 where it won the Golden Pardo for the best film, From What is Before tells of the devastating effects of the authoritarian change of the Marcos dictatorship on the daily life of the villagers in the north of the Philippines. A splendid film, in which the director returns to his beloved black and white and the style of a cinema that is lucid and coherent with his responsibilities.
Perry Dizon, Roeder, Hazel Orencio, Karenina Haniel, Mailes Kanapi
Films Distribution
Sine Olivia Pilipinas
Lav Diaz
Lav Diaz
Lav Diaz
Tagalog, Filipino, English
Main awards
Golden Leopard (Festival di Locarno, 2014), Audience Award (São Paulo International Film Festival, 2014), Grand Festival Prize (World Premieres Film Festival, 2014), Best Picture and Best director (Gawad Urian Awards, 2015)
Play Video
Lav Diaz (Datu Paglas, 1958), is a Filipino film director, screenwriter, film producer, cinematographer, editor and actor. Diaz is one of the most critically acclaimed contemporary filmmakers and has received numerous awards. From What Is Before won the Golden Leopard at the 2014 Locarno International Film Festival; A Lullaby to the Sorrowful Mystery won the Alfred Bauer Prize (Silver Bear) in Berlinale 2016, and The Woman Who Left won the Golden Lion in Venice in 2016.
2023 - Essential Truths of the Lake, ff
2022 - When the Waves are Gone, ff
2022 - A Tale of Filipino Violence, ff
2019 - The Halt, ff
2018 - Season of the Devil, ff
2016 - The Woman Who Left, ff
2016 - A Lullaby to the Sorrowful Mystery, ff
2014 - From What Is Before, ff
2013 - Norte, the End of History, ff
2008 - Melancholia, ff



Ali Asgari | Iran, France, Qatar | 2022 | 85'

Dalmira Tilepbergen | Kyrgyzstan | 2023 | 88'

Lav Diaz | Philippines | 2016 | 228'

Recupero dei dati in corso. Attendere alcuni secondi e riprovare a tagliare o copiare. | China, USA, France, Singapore | 2023 | 98'