The Year of the Everlasting Storm

Jafar Panahi, Anthony Chen, Malik Vitthal, Laura Poitras, Dominga Sotomayor, David Lowery, Apichatpong Weerasethakul | United States, Iran, Chile, Thailand, United Kingdom, Singapore | 2021 | 115'
Original title
The Year of the Everlasting Storm
An original and quality view of an unprecedented moment in the history of humanity, a love letter to the power of the cinema and its narrators, filmed in the United States, Iran, Chile, China and Thailand, by seven of today’s most important directors.
Mokarameh Saidi Balsini, Tahereh Saidi Balsini, Solmaz Panahi, Jafar Panahi and Iggy (Life); Zhou Dongyu, Zhang Yu, Zhang Yanbo, Qian Youfa, Wang Fengjuan, Zhang Guangfa, Chen Jian, Zhang Yimiao, Chen Youshuo (The Break Away); Bobby Yay Yay Jones, Yay'veontay Jones, Bobby Levi Jones, Imani Jones (Little Measures); Alaa Mahajna, Carmen Aristegui, Ghada Oueiss, Mazen Masri Nihalsing Rathod, Pierre Chanel Affognon, Salvador Camarena, Shalini Gera, Yahya Assiri, "Charlie", "Sara" (Terror Contagion); Francisca Castillo, Rosa García-Huidobro, Rita, Antonia Mendía, Inti Briones, Aissareru Briones Mendía (Sin Título, 2020); Catherine Machovsky (Dig Up My Darling); Jenjira Pongpas Widner, Sakda Kaewbuadee Vaysse, Banlop Lomnoi (Night Colonies)
Films Distribution
The Match Factory
Neon Rated, Animal Kingdom
Jafar Panahi (Life); Anthony Chen (The Break Away); Malik Vitthal (Little Measures); Laura Poitras (Terror Contagion); Dominga Sotomayor (Sin Título, 2020); David Lowery (Dig Up My Darling); Apichatpong Weerasethakul (Night Colonies)
Jafar Panahi, Tahereh Saidi Balsini (Life); Lv Qing (The Break Away); Bobby Yay Yay Jones, Yay'veontay Jones, Bobby Levi Jones, Imani Jones (Little Measures); Laura Poitras (Terror Contagion); Dominga Sotomayor, Inti Briones (Sin Título, 2020); David Lowery (Dig Up My Darling); Chatchai Suban (Night Colonies)
Jafar Panahi (Life); Hoping Chen (The Break Away); Rab Bradlea (Little Measures); Sabine Hoffman, A.C.E., Laura Poitras (Terror Contagion); Catalina Marín (Sin Título, 2020); Presley Impson (Dig Up My Darling); Apichatpong Weerasethakul (Night Colonies)
English, Farsi, Chinese, Spanish, Thai
English, Italian
Italian premiere
Main awards
Apichatpong Weerasethakul was born in Khon Kaen, in the north-east of Thailand. He started to make short films in 1994 and made his feature-length debut in 2000 with Mysterious Objects at Noon, presented at the Festival of Rotterdam. In 2010 he won the Golden Palm at the Cannes Film Festival with his film Uncle Boon Mee who can recall his past lives, and, in 2021, again in Cannes he won the Grand Prix of the Jury with his film Memoria.
2021 - Night Colonies, sf
2021 - Memoria, ff
2020 - October Rumbles, sf
2018 - Blue, sf
2018 - Ten Years Thailand, ff
2017 - Async - First Light, sf
2016 - Ablaze, sf
2015 - Fever Room, ff
2015 - Vapour, sf
2015 - 2015 Rolling, sf
David Lowery is a writer, editor and director. At the age of 19, Lowery wrote and directed his first film, Lullaby and had his breakthrough with his first feature film, St. Nick in 2009. Ain't Them Bodies Saints won Best Cinematography in 2013 at Sundance Film Festival. His films include A Ghost Story (2017), The Green Knight and Peter Pan & Wendy (2021).
2021 – Peter Pan & Wendy, ff
2021 – The Green Knight, ff
2018 - The Old Man and The Gun, ff
2017 - A Ghost Story, ff
2016 - Pete's Dragon, ff
2013 - Ain't Them Bodies Saints, ff
2011 - Pioneer, ff
2009 - St. Nick, ff
2008 - A Catalog of Anticipations, sf
2000 - Lullaby, sf
Dominga Sotomayor was born in 1985 in Santiago in Chile: she is a screenplay writer, director and co-founder of the Centro de Cine y Creación, a new cinema in Santiago. Her first film, Thursday till Sunday, was developed at the Résidence of the Cinéfondation in Cannes and won the Festival of Rotterdam in 2012. With Too Late To Die Young (2018), she was the first woman to receive the Golden Pardo at the Festival of Locarno.
2018 – Too Late to Die Young, ff
2016 - Los Barcos, sf
2014 - Mar, ff
2012 – Thursday till Sunday, ff
2009 - Videojuego, sf
2008 - Debajo, sf
2008 - La Montana, sf
2007 - Noviembre, sf
Laura Poitras is a filmmaker, journalist, and artist. Her film Citizenfour won an Oscar for Best Documentary, along with awards from BAFTA, Emmys, and the Directors Guild of America. Her reporting on the NSA and Edward Snowden received the Pulitzer Prize for Public Service. Part one of the trilogy, Academy Award-nominated My Country, My Country about the U.S. occupation of Iraq, premiered at the Berlinale. Part two, The Oath, on Guantanamo Bay Prison and the war on terror, also screened at the Berlinale.
2016 – Risk, ff
2014 – Citizenfour, ff
2010 - The Oath, lm
2006 - My Country, My Country, ff
Born and raised in Los Angeles, Malik Vitthal graduated from the University of Southern California’s School of Cinematic Arts. He co-wrote his feature directorial debut Imperial Dreams, which was developed at the Sundance Institute Screenwriters Lab and the Jerusalem International Film Lab. Imperial Dreams premiered at the Sundance Film Festival, where it won the Audience Award: Best of NEXT. Vitthal's second film, Body Cam was released by Paramount Pictures.
2021 - Little Measures, sf
2020 – Body Cam, ff
2014 – Imperial Dreams, ff
2013 - The Blue Black Wet of Wood, sf
Anthony Chen is a writer, director and producer. He studied at the film school of Singapore and then at the National Film and Television School in London. He was the first Singapore director to win a n award at Cannes, with his short film Ah Ma, in 2007. His first feature film, Ilo Ilo, won the Caméra d’Or at the Cannes Film Festival in 2013. Wet Season was presented in 2019 at the Toronto International Film Festival and has obtained awards at festivals all over the world.
2019 – Wet Season, ff
2013 – Ilo Ilo, ff
2011 - The Reunion Dinner, sf
2010 - Lighthouse, sf
2009 - Hotel 66, sf
2009 - Distance, sf
2008 - Haze, sf
2007 - Ah Ma, sf
2005 - G-23, sf
Jafar Panahi, after several short films and documentaries, made his first feature film, The White Balloon, in 1995. It was presented at the Quinzaine des Réalisateurs in Cannes, where it won the Caméra d’Or, and then presented to Berlin and Locarno. Ten other films followed, all successful with both critics and public alike. In the past few years, he has made Taxi, which was presented at the Berlinale in 2015, where it won the Golden Bear and 3 Faces, his latest film in 2018, won the prize for the best screenplay in Cannes. He is currently prevented from making films and leaving the country.
2020 - Hidden, sf
2018 – 3 Faces, ff
2016 - Where Are You, Jafar Panahi?, sf
2015 – Taxi, ff
2013 - Closed Curtain, ff
2011 - This is not a film, ff
2010 - The Accordion, sf
2006 - Offside, ff
2003 - Crimson Gold, ff
2000 - The Circle, ff



Askhat Kuchinchirekov | Kazakhstan | 2023 | 113'

Lav Diaz | Philippines | 2014 | 339'

Gabriele Biasi | Italy | 2023 | 16'

Ángeles Cruz | Mexico | 2023 | 86'